frm

Stonks

Investment/crypto/scam thread.

I’ve heard that 80% of Texans now pay their rent with Bitcoin.

My bank has emailed me about an investment platform where I can get advice online about how to invest for £20 and then be charged 0.35% of whatever I invest. The bank will manage any investment for me. Is this a huge waste of time?

There are probably free trading platforms you could use for investing in index funds if you want a hands off approach. Robinhood has a UK waiting list. Anything to grow your money faster than a savings account is not a waste of time if you are saving.

Cool, thanks.

I signed up to the Robin Hood waiting list. I’m in position, er, 47,371.

My Vanguard account is down ~24% so far.

I was planning to liquidate it to purchase a house after July (for tax reasons).

The upside of this is I can change my Australia heavy asset allocation with minimal capital gains tax.

Has anyone used any of those AI tracker apps, like Plum?

I started trading a couple years ago. Initially, I was basically just gambling by buying OTM puts and calls and hoping to resell them at a higher price before they got wrecked by theta. I doubled my money in a week, felt like a genius, then realized I was actually a dumbass as I lost it all over the next few weeks. A few months later I tried out credit spreads to limit losses in addition to holding some stonks analysts said were undervalued, and made a bunch of money on paper until corona happened and I lost about 30% from where I started. New strategy is much safer: https://www.reddit.com/r/options/comments/a36k4j/the_wheel_aka_triple_income_strategy_explained/

1. Sell OTM puts
  2. If assigned, sell OTM calls
  3. Repeat